Master programs

Advanced Master SMIB

Mastering the complexity of global business 

Grounded in ESSEC’s founding values of humanism, diversity, responsibility, innovation and excellence, the Advanced Master in Strategy and Management of International Business (SMIB) provides students with the global view of the organization, and prepares them to rise to the challenges of rapidly changing economic and social environments.

 

Advanced Master in Strategy and Management of International Business

ESSEC’s Advanced Master in Strategy and Management of International Business is an internationally oriented program which prides itself on training managers who are capable of thriving in a global and challenging business market. The program allows its students to acquire skills in strategy, management, international business, marketing and financial engineering and helps them understand the inherent risks in the ever-changing international environment. 

The internationally focused pedagogy is anchored in a case-based approach, presenting students with international business situations. Solutions that emerge often reflect the cultural and academic diversity of the students. Lecturers have a strong international background, often coming from prestigious foreign institutions.
 
To allow for individually adapted programs and refined career goals, a lot of the courses are optional.

Watch a Campus Channel interview with the Program Director and find out more:

THE PROGRAM’S KEY POINTS

  • Multi-campus tracks in Europe, Asia, and North & Latin America: depending on the chosen track, courses take place partly in the ESSEC campuses of Cergy and Singapore, and partly in its international partners’ campuses.
  • International partnerships with Nanyang Technological University (NTU) in Singapore, Thunderbird School of Global Management in the USA, EGADE Graduate School of Business at Technologico de Monterrey in Mexico, Queen’s School of Business in Canada.
  • International rankings confirming the ESSEC’s strong reputation amongst recruiters, particularly in light of the economic context and the financial crisis:
  • #1 in the world for “placement success” in the Financial Times’ 2009 Global Masters in Management.
  • #1 in the MOCI’s 2009 ranking of French Masters in International Business

 


 

ALUMNI’S CAREER PATHS

Graduates of this program find management positions in various sectors in France, Europe and worldwide:

  • Consulting: consultant in strategy, in international development, in mergers and acquisitions, business analyst, audit consultant, risk management consultant
  • International business: project manager, business developer, head of import-export, zone manager, international development manager
  • Finance: Financial analyst, investment banking auditor, head of international project financing, auditor/credit risk manager, systems engineer and head of financial processes, international treasurer, international management controller
  • Marketing & sales: International product manager, marketing manager, key account manager, head of market research, sales director, sales manager
  • Management: Subsidiary director, project manager

CAREER PROSPECTS

According to our survey among the previous class:

  • 50% of our students find a job before the end of their company field project
  • 92% find a job within 4 months after graduation
  • 79% work at a position with an international scope
  • 30% work abroad (USA, Singapore, Marocco, India, Belgium, Switzerland, China, Australia, Ireland, Turkey and Argentina)

PERSONALIZED COACHING

  • The ESSEC Career Services has a team of professionals specialized in relevant business sectors and career counselling and coaching. It offers services based on personal development techniques and coaching in Human Resources.
  • The counselling team includes a coaching and career counselling professional and three specialized consultants who help students define their professional goals and organize the internship search. Later, the ESSEC Alumni Association’s Career Orientation Service takes over with advice and support for the job search.
  • Individual counselling sessions facilitate project definition, target company search, and provide self-marketing counselling for students, including those from outside France.

TYPICAL STUDENT PROFILE

  • 75% of the students hold degrees in engineering or science
  • 25% hold degrees in law, management or political sciences
  • 10% have some work experience
  • 45% of the cohort is international, with 35 nationalities representing the five continents
  • Students share an international background (dual nationality, studies or work abroad), with a strong level in English
  • They speak 3 or more languages

To find out more about the program visit the MS SMIB pages or talk with the students from the Class of 2013


PROGRAM OVERVIEW


A multidisciplinary program with an international perspective

  • Basic Management
  • Self development
  • Strategy
  • Management
  • International Business
  • International Finance
  • International Marketing

Study trips abroad

On top of the academic and practical training, the program allows you to participate in a study trip abroad every year. This 5 to 10 day trip in February-March aims to enable you to meet and exchange views and knowledge with several major international and local companies in the country visited. 

Company field projects and professional thesis

In addition to courses, the program facilitates students’ professional integration through the company field project which enables students to be objectively evaluated by a firm, particularly during the defense of the professional thesis.


What the students have to say

“A very broad view of international business”
“Previously I didn’t have much knowledge in finance and accounting as I did my master in engineering. I wanted to achieve a position in management of international projects. The program covers most subjects in management: finance, accounting, purchasing, and marketing and at the end we have a very broad view of International Business. I think the world is becoming more and more flat. Every student who is ambitious should experience international business, to know how to communicate with foreign people, to put themselves in other people’s shoes. Joining this program, with a lot of international students, means you have to adapt to other cultures. All the cross cultural exchanges are very interesting. In your professional life, you need the same qualities and this program helps to develop them and to be open-minded”. 
Qian Xiao, China. Background: Tsinghua University Bachelor Degree in Engineering, including 2-year exchange program with Ecole Centrale de Lyon (France), followed by a Master degree in Management Science and Engineering

“A far wider choice of career opportunities”
“I chose this program because it was a very famous international Advanced Master, and also, because I come from Tunisia, it was an opportunity for me to discover international strategy and international management. The added value of this program is that it’s a way to discover in just one year a very wide spectrum of the subjects that you need to be a top level manager. The course is very intensive and you have to work hard, but it’s really worth it.
Concerning my career expectations, I must admit that the benefits were huge, because during my studies at engineering school, my only ambition was to be a consultant and then, with this program in ESSEC Business School, I had the opportunity to acquire many more tools and a wide scope concerning corporate finance and also management. Now I have a far wider choice of career opportunities, including strategy which I am particularly interested in.”
Zyed El Meddedb, French/Tunisian. Background: Ecole Centrale Nantes

硕士与高级硕士

国际商务战略与管理高级硕士学位

全面掌握全球商业世界的复杂性

植根于ESSEC的创始价值观(即人性、多样化、责任、创新和卓越),国际商务战略与管理高级硕士培养学生统观企业全局,使他们能够应对迅速变化的经济和社会环境所带来的挑战。

 

 

国际商务战略与管理高级硕士学位

 

全面掌握全球商业世界的复杂性

ESSEC的国际商务战略与管理高级硕士是一个面向国际的项目,以培训能够在具有挑战性的全球商业市场环境下出色应变的经理人而自诩。该项目为学生全面提供掌握策略、管理、国际商务、市场营销和金融工程的条件,并帮助他们了解在不断变化的国际环境中固有的风险。
 
立足于国际化的教学方法以个案分析为基础,向学生说明国际商业形势。解决方案则常常反映出学生们在文化和学术方面的多样性。讲师均有强大的国际背景,往往来自著名的国外大学。
 
为方便学生根据个人职业目标调整课目,许多课目都是可选的。


该课程的重点方面

  • 在欧洲、亚洲、北美和拉丁美洲的多校区方向:根据所选择的方向,一部分课程在ESSEC的Cergy校区和新加坡校区上,一部分则在国际合作伙伴的学校完成。
  • 在欧洲、亚洲、北美和拉丁美洲的多校区方向:根据所选择的方向,一部分课程在ESSEC的Cergy校区和新加坡校区上,一部分则在国际合作伙伴的学校完成。
  • 从各国际排名可以看到ESSEC商学院在招聘企业心中的地位,特别是考虑到当前的经济背景和金融危机:
  • 《金融时报》2009年全球管理硕士“就业率”排名第一。
  • MOCI刊物2009年法国国际商务硕士排名第一。 

校友的职业道路

该专业毕业生在法国、欧洲和世界各地都找到了管理职位:

  • 咨询:战略、国际化发展、企业并购、业务分析、审计和风险管理方面的顾问
  • 国际业务:项目经理、业务开发员、进出口负责人、区域经理、国际开发部经理
  • 金融:金融分析师、投资银行核数师、国际项目融资负责人、审计师/信贷风险经理、系统工程师和财务流程负责人、国际司库、国际管理控制员
  • 市场营销和销售:国际产品经理、营销经理、大客户经理、市场研究主管、销售总监、销售经理
  • 管理:副总监,项目经理

就业前景

根据我们在往届的班级中进行的调查:

  • 50%的学生在公司实地项目完成前就找到了工作
  • 92%的学生毕业后4个月内找到了工作
  • 79%的学生在国际化范畴的岗位上工作
  • 30%的学生决定去往国外工作(美国,新加坡,摩洛哥,印度,比利时,瑞士,中国,澳大利亚,爱尔兰,土耳其,阿根廷...)

个性化辅导

  • 在ESSEC就业服务中心我们拥有一批专业从事相关行业和职业咨询指导的专业人士。它提供了基于个人发展的在人力资源服务方面的技术和培训。
  • 辅导团队包括一个培训专员和一个职业咨询专业人士,以及三个专业顾问。他们帮助学生明确自己的职业目标并组织实习机会的搜索。接下来,ESSEC校友会的职业定向服务部门进行接管,并提供求职的支持与建议。
  • 个别辅导促进项目的定义、目标公司查询,并为学生(包括来自法国以外地区)提供自我营销咨询服务。

学生情况

 

  • 75%的学生拥有工程师或理工科学位
  • 25%持有法学、管理学或政治学学位
  • 10%有一定工作经验
  • 45%的同学来自五大洲的35个国家
  • 学生有国际背景(双重国籍,国外学习或工作),具有较强的英语水平
  • 他们说3种或以上语言

要了解有关该学位的更多信息,请访问 MS SMIB 网页或与2013届学生交谈


项目简介


具有国际视野的多学科计划

  • 基础管理
  • 自我发展
  • 战略
  • 管理
  • 国际商务
  • 国际金融
  • 国际营销

游学国外

除学术和实践培训之外,该项目提供每年参加海外学习之旅的机会。在二月至三月的这5到10天与几个主要的国际和参观国本地的公司交换意见和知识。学习考察内容包括如何进入国外市场、如何提供援助,机会和威胁或风险。为期一周的国际研究之旅提供了与当地的专业人士和商界领袖面对面交谈的机会。

公司实地项目和专业论文

除了专业课程,该项目使学生通过公司实地项目向职业化整合,使学生能够客观地由一家公司进行评估,尤其是通过专业论文的答辩过程。


校友分享
“一个非常开阔的国际商务视野”
“因为我之前的硕士方向是工程,我没有很多关于财务和会计的专业知识,而我想在国际项目管理方向的位置工作。该项目涵盖大部分管理学的学科:财务,会计,采购,营销。项目结束时,我们建立起了一个非常广阔的国际商务视角。我觉得这个世界变得越来越平坦。每一个雄心勃勃的学生都应该来体验国际商务,知道如何与外籍人士沟通,站在别人的角度思考。这个项目有很多国际学生,意味着你必须去适应其他的文化。所有的跨文化交流是非常有趣的。在你的职业生涯中,你需要相同的特质,这个项目有助于往这些方向培养他们,并且帮助他们以更开放的态度思考”。
萧乾,来自中国。背景清华大学工学学士学位本科时与里昂中央理工学院法国进行了 2年的交流计划接下来进修了管理科学与工程硕士学位

“一个更广泛的就业选择机会”
 “我选择了这个项目因为它是一个非常著名的国际高级硕士。而且,因为我来自突尼斯,这是一个让我更多了解国际化战略和国际化管理的机会,这个项目的附加价值是,它在短短一年内,让你对成为一个顶级管理者所需要涵盖的学科范围有一个广泛的了解。这个项目的安排非常密集,你必须努力学习,但这些努力真的都非常的值得。
至于我的职业期望,我必须承认,参与这个项目带来的好处是巨大的,因为当我在工程学校学习时,我唯一的抱负是成为一名顾问,然后,ESSEC商学院的这个项目,让我有机会获得更多的能力以及有关企业融资及管理的知识。现在我的职业生涯有个更宽的选择,其中包括我特别感兴趣的战略方向。”
Zyed el Meddedb来自法国/突尼斯。背景南特中央理工学院